Day 26 and Letter Writing

storyaday26again

Today’s prompt is to write a letter. So, here we are. Thank you for reading.

To whomever finds this,

I hope you are well, that you know the way out, that things are different now. Could my sister and I walk with you? Would you help us? Perhaps not. It’s unreasonable to ask since we haven’t even met.

But you’ve made it this far and have taken the time to look in the hiding places, the cracks and crevices. This means either you have all the time in the world, nothing is after you, and you’re just curious about this strange old place. Or you’re much like us and have nothing but time because you can’t go forward or back. You’ll find out soon enough the choices. I’m still not sure how much I want to influence you.

Are you the sort to be change your mind because of what someone like me writes? Do you listen? I didn’t. My sister listened but only to me, but she was always silly that way, thinking I knew best because I was older. She always wanted to tag along and usually I said no. Usually I shouted at her to go away. When you tell someone to go away, why don’t they listen? I’ve never been a little sister, so maybe that’s why I don’t understand.

I’m wasting your time and I don’t even know how much time I have to write. You don’t even know how much time you have to read. But I’m sure if you’re reading this, you’ve made a mistake. You’ve taken a wrong turn, ignored the signs, forgot the time. That’s the only way you end up here unless things have really changed. Would you even know? Do you know your history?

Why am I even writing when I don’t know the secret or the code? I don’t know where the key can be found or where the knives are hidden. You’ll need both. Trust me. Trust me unless you find me. Then I make no promises.

I’ve no right to ask, of course, dear reader. No right at all. But if you’ve kept reading, maybe you’ll keep searching. Only a hero would find this, isn’t that right? If you can’t save me, save my words. Maybe I’ll know.

Bye. Or hello. I’ll leave that up to you.

*

*

*

And if you’re so inclined, my novel is here.

2 responses to “Day 26 and Letter Writing

  1. Hello. Again. 🙂

    I wonder what the mistake is that I’ve made by reading this? Now I’m thinking you’ve embedded some kind of magical spell, which does not take effect unless a reader links together all the words…….

Leave a Reply

