Day 7 of Story-a-Day May

IMG_3907-2

I waited too late in the day and I have a new semester starting tomorrow. I do not have time for this! But I’ve got these characters, and here they are.

Here are a few witches for Time Travelers, Witches, and Saints: A Compendium of Lesser Known Time Travelers and Other Terrors.

The witches met at the corner of 1st and Central Avenue to have lunch at the Murray’s Old World Deli. Esmerelda picked the table. She’d picked the time and the location as well. And as each of her fellow witches looked over the menu, she made sure to tell them what she thought they should get.

Only Florry Stephens went along with the suggestion. She’d also waited until everyone was seated before she took the remaining seat.

Hee Sook Jung acted as if she hadn’t heard Esmerelda. “Oh, I’m sorry. What were you saying, dear?”

Gina Black hummed and played with the edge of her napkin while she waited for business to begin.

Alaine Vankova kissed everyone’s cheek before she sat down. “I ate before I came,” she said.

Once the witches had placed their orders and had their drinks, Esmerelda tapped her glass with perfectly sharp nails. “Let’s get started. I have plans this evening.”

“With which lover, dear?” asked Alaine.

“I can hardly keep track,” Hee Sook said.

Esmerelda allowed herself a slight smile. “Never you mind. Let’s focus on the problem at hand.”

“Yes, let’s,” Florry said. “I like that idea.”

Gina yawned. “Sorry,” she managed. “What was the problem again?”

“Oh, Gina, really,” Esmerelda scolded. “Do pay attention. Your chemistry is the best. When you focus.”

Gina smiled and looked around to see if the waiter was brining the food yet.

“Gina,” Hee Sook said, “aren’t you bit overdress for this? I mean, don’t get me wrong. You look lovely. That’s a beautiful dress, but perhaps attracting more attention than even Esmerelda can tolerate.”

“Thank you,” Gina replied and twirled her straw. “I’ve been looking forward to wearing this all week.”

“But the problem,” Esmerelda said. She leaned forward.

“Yes, Esme?” Florry asked.

“It will need all our focus.”

“Oh, come now.” Hee Sook looked up at the ceiling. “I could take care of this in my sleep.”

Esmerelda’s smile tightened. “Any of us could, but there’s more to this than I said over the phone.”

Alaine tossed her head back and laughed. “I knew it! Stef owes me dinner now.”

The others all looked to Esmerelda. “We’re changing the course of history.”

“That’s against our laws,” Hee Sook said. “And you know it.”

“The hunts are returning.” Esmerelda straightened up in her seat even as she lowered her voice. “You know they are. You know they’ve begun.”

“They’ve always been with us, somewhere,” Hee Sook argued.

“In places we’ve had the luxury not to think about. Am I right?” Esmerelda asked them.

“I know you are,” Florry said. She worked her blond hair between her fingers. “You’re absolutely right.”

“And if we don’t work together now, we won’t be together ever again.” Esmerelda picked up her fork and set it back down. She pushed it across the napkin. “Are you in?”

Alaine opened a sugar packet and poured its contents onto her tongue. After she swallowed, she grinned. “You know what I think of our laws.”

“Okay,” Hee Sook answered. “I’ll try it your way. But I’ll not hang with you. Do you understand?”

Esmerelda nodded.

They all turned to Gina, who startled. “What? Well, yes, of course.” Gina entwined her fingers together and placed her hands in her lap. “Did I tell you I finally got a dog?”

*

Thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

