Back to Day 6 of Story-a-Day May

IMG_20111007_140157

Yesterday, I did more rewriting, but I also added a short scene to the other work in progress, The Book of Astrophilia. And I’m going to post it, but I’m not going to give any backstory or explain anything. Because.

“Well?” Shalanda asked Tas. Tas had yet to leave the mortuary archive office, pacing behind Shalanda while Shalanda finished up her report on the dead engineer.

“Get him out. You could do it. You have more freedom than anyone.”

“I thought,” Shalanda said, turning away from her computer, “you were all Miracle June! Miracle June!”

Tas stopped pacing. She smiled her sly smile. “But she’s fine, isn’t she? You heard Marcel. They’re back on the ship, we’re leaving the port, and the students are fine.” She paused. “Except for the one. Omaze?”

“Kazu Omaze, and he’s a bit more than not fine. They should be bringing his body along any time. Oh. You want to see it, don’t you? The slit in his throat.”

“Marcel said Ethorian.”

“You don’t trust my reports?”

“I trust you to the end of the Oort Cloud, but I still like to see things for myself. But you know that’s not why I’m here.”

Shalanda sighed. “Right. Your dad. I’m supposed to stroll into the Prison Nebula and walk out with him.”

“Yes.”

Shalanda leaned forward and lowered her voice. “We’re Archivists. Not gods.”

Tas leaned in close as well. “Really?”

The whir of a gurney echoed down the corridor. They were bringing Kozu Omaze’s body to the morgue. Shalanda laughed resignedly. “All right. What’s the plan, my lovely Tas, goddess and guiding star?”

Thanks again for reading!

Leave a Reply

