Almost halfway through Story-a-Day May!

DSC_0521

Sometimes I come across pictures of famous authors hobnobbing together, and, yes, I feel a slight pang that I don’t hang out with any literary group on the Left Bank of Paris or in Bloomsbury of London. I’m not part of a Beat Generation or Rat Pack. At least, not in real life. I do have writer friends online. We’ve even met in real life, in fact! And that was a tremendous experience.

But famous author or not, writing happens alone in the room.

Gosh, at this rate, I’ll be out of my mind by the end of the month.

Addie Jones had a fairy godmother. Her fairy godmother lived in the park, and the adults couldn’t see her, but Addie always could. Addie brought her fairy godmother chocolate and juice boxes.

Addie’s fairy godmother told her how special she was and how everything would turn out all right. And sometimes her fairy godmother gave her trinkets, a sparkly bracelet or a pretty stone.

Addie didn’t ask for any wishes. She wasn’t sure what to ask, and she didn’t want her fairy godmother to think her silly. A wish had to be grand. It had to be necessary. It had to change your life.

Many afternoons, Addie and her fairy godmother sat on the park bench together, sharing sunflower seeds or goldfish crackers and talking about whatever took their fancy. Addie told her fairy godmother about school, bullies, and family. Her fairy godmother told her stories. Addie learned about the secret life of the raven that came to a rest every day on the light post at the park gate. And she learned how butterflies went to midnight balls and how ladybugs could always tell when magic was about to happen. Her fairy godmother told Addie many stories, and Addie believed every single one.

Every day after school, Addie walked by the park. She was supposed to walk straight to her grandmother’s apartment, but from the first moment she spotted her fairy godmother, she had to stray off her path just a bit.

All right. It is after midnight and I am stuck. Stuck. Stuck. Stuck. And I’ve got to get to sleep. Maybe an ending will come me.

Thanks for reading anyway!

2 responses to “Almost halfway through Story-a-Day May!

  1. I write better alone in a room, too, if I’m not hot on the trail– at that point, I can write in a coffee shop or wherever, but if I’m working-working, no, it’s alone day.

    WU, and such places, are the new Salon, anyway.

    As for Addie, I’m glad she went slightly off trail. That’s an interesting place to be…

Leave a Reply

