Day Eleven and False Starts

IMAG3233

I had a decent chunk of time this afternoon to write. And I did. I sat on my patio and wrote about Nate’s experience with Security before he hurtled himself at Hannah in the hallway.

But I need to do more research on things like punches and kicks and injuries. (Fun times!) It didn’t ring true for me (though maybe that sounds weird in light of the story I’m writing), and I don’t know if readers need to know that anyway. Maybe I’ll come back to it in the rewrites.

At least, I know what happened!

So, I stopped writing, had guests over for dinner and Cosmos, and now before bed I find myself staring at the page again. Tomorrow is my first day of my summer semester, and I need to get some sleep.

I still wanted something to post.

*

Nate searched for a hiding place. He’d wait for Hannah to come back out. He’d follow her, and when she needed help, he’d be ready.

He spotted a large potted plant near a door. It wasn’t the best hiding place, but if she weren’t looking around, she’d miss him.
Running hurt, but he did his best to dash over and hide himself. A girl was already there, curled into a ball, her arms around her knees. She didn’t move except to look up him.

He wasn’t sure what to do. She wore sky blue pajamas with clouds dotted all over them.

“The donkey talks to me,” she said.

“What?” Had he heard her correctly? “Are you okay?” he asked.

“They cut off its head, but it still talks. Haven’t you seen it? It hangs on the wall in The Room.”

He didn’t have time to solve riddles from strange girls. “I don’t know what you’re talking about.” He looked up and down the hall for another hiding place. “I’m sorry.”

She nodded and returned to staring straight ahead.

A few yards away was an open door to a dark room. He’d try there. He took one step, stopped, and patted the girl’s shoulder. “Everything will be okay,” he mumbled. “You stay right there.” He didn’t know why he said it. He doubted it was true.

To his relief the dark room contained no surprises although he didn’t turn on the light to check. He settled in the shadows to wait. He had a good view of most of the wide dim hall. He was confident that he’d see anything coming.

Leave a Reply

