A Story-a-Day keeps the sanity away.

I’m not sure why agreed to write a story a day the month I’m moving. Crazy. But maybe that’s okay, even necessary.

An Inmate

You don’t need to know anything about me. I’m done with fame and attention. Really, listen. I’ve got to tell you something about the girl in the room next to me. You won’t believe it. Yes, I know the walls are supposed to be sound proof, and I know all the rules about what we can and can’t say. Yeah, yeah, yeah. Whatever. But I just can’t keep this to myself.

Secret-keeping is bad for your health. You know that, don’t you?

Anyway, here’s the thing. The girl next to me, she thinks she’s a princess. That’s rich, isn’t it? I know a little something about princess spotting. But no, that’s not the odd thing. Nearly everyone in here thinks they’re royalty–drives me crazy. This girl though, this girl thinks she’s got her prince hidden in room too. She does. Really.

I mean, she doesn’t have a prince. She has a frog.

A frog!

And she believes heart and soul that it is her prince. Isn’t that hysterical? I asked her–and no I wasn’t supposed to talk to her, but who cares?–“Have you kissed him?” Cause you know that’s what you want to know too. She shook her head. “It wouldn’t be safe for him to be a prince in this place. You know what they do to princes in here,” she said.

Oh. As if they love frogs.

That frog sleeps under the blanket–to stay out of sight, she says. It prefers her pillow. Yeah, right. And she steals treats from the dining room. She talks to it, and I don’t know what else.

Don’t you think that’s crazy? It’s sick really. Totally sick.

I mean, it’s not as if a witch would use a spell like that twice. There can only be one prince who’s been turned into a frog, and he isn’t next door–I can promise you that.

And you know what else? That girl is not only crazy, she’s stupid. Even if that frog were a prince–which it isn’t–she could kiss him all she wanted and he’d stay a frog. Spells can’t be broken in the Asylum. Not ever. I’ve tested it out myself.

I’ll prove it. See? No, you don’t have to move. He’ll hop over to me. He loves me.

8 responses to “A Story-a-Day keeps the sanity away.

  1. Just wanted to let you know I’m enjoying your stories. I had no doubt you’d be able to keep it up. I, on the other hand, wrote one sentence the first day and gave up. 🙂

Leave a Reply

