A Story a Day: In the Asylum–Room 2

Another Inmate…

The nurse lies. She says my toe will grow back and that the black birds don’t sing about me and the trail of blood I left in the road. She laughs at me and calls me ugly under her breath, thinking I can’t hear. I don’t care, because the mice believe me now. Soon they’ll steal the key for me. Cutting off my own toe for a shoe was just the beginning.

for A Story-a-Day

One response to “A Story a Day: In the Asylum–Room 2

  1. Pingback: String Theory Childhood « writing in the water

Leave a Reply

