A Story a Day…from the asylum

A Story: Room One

They won’t let me have my cloak back, but the nurse hangs it from a hook I can see from the tiny window in my door. One of the orderlies always touches the red velvet every time he goes by. I shall tell Wolf.

Do you know Story-a-Day in May?

I’m struggling through exam week at work, moving into a house (our first house ever!), getting my son ready for regional speed skate competition, illustrating a children’s book, helping promote Plum Tree Books, and doing laundry, washing dishes, paying bills, walking the dogs…you know, living like everyone else.

But I love Story-a-Day.

I’ll post them–in all their first draft horror–here, and–because I like to have a theme to keep on track–the stories will come from the Fairy Tale Asylum. The inmates, so to speak.

Join me please!

7 responses to “A Story a Day…from the asylum

  1. Pingback: May is here. May is here. Life is stories, and life is fears… « writing in the water

  2. Finally plowing through these. I’ve always loved your “asylum” concept and have been excited to see you actively working at it this month! (Especially since you do have a few other things on your mind. :))

    • To be honest I feel slightly masochistic writing these things, but I also feel compelled. Thanks for reading. Once this move is over I hope I can get back to reading my favorite blogs (um, you know, like yours).

Leave a Reply

