Pass!

Another agent has passed on my novel. She was quite nice to me, and I’m not looking to bad mouth agents, but no matter the reason, no is never fun.

The reason is the market. Well okay.

And she also said I was talented.

Which is nice to hear, but I still have a book no one is going to read.

Sigh. Sigh. Sigh.

4 responses to “Pass!

    • Thanks, Karen. The book is one titled The Blue Jar. A chapter is posted over there in the side bar.

      I’ll keep trying.It may just be that I’m more of a niche author than a mainstream bestselling type author. Which probably doesn’t bode well for finding a publisher. I don’t know. There needs to be an emoticon of a stick figure throwing up her hands in exasperation.

      And I’m as frustrated with myself more than the industry.

  1. Oh, Marta! I’m sorry to hear this. It almost makes it worse when they say “it’s not you, it’s the market,” because at least if your writing sucks you can work on that. I think this is why a lot of people start selfpubbing. I’m having flashbacks to my submission times.

    • Thanks, Sherri.

      You’re right. And when I hear “it’s the market”…well, the market wants things that will sell. So I can only assume that even if I manage to write something “good” (whatever that is), it isn’t something most people would want to read, because if it were, then the market would want it.

      The whole self-pubbing thing seems like a nightmare of work to me. And I know, I know, I know what they say about the amount of work that is required of traditionally published writers these days, but it still isn’t the same. At least not if you want a self-pubbed book to look professional…

      Oh, bah. I’m too cranky right now to think about it.

Leave a Reply

