What I Hate Most about Art

bunny ornaments

Pricing. This Friday is time again to hang my art in public (public hanging!) and decide what numbers to put on those little tags.

Part of me wonders why art can’t just be free. Oh, that’s right. Artists like to eat and have heat in the winter.

Crazy but true.

So, yes, I know all the things to consider: cost of materials, amount of time, quality of piece, how much I want it to sell, what the market will tolerate…

I’ve read a lot about pricing, but that hasn’t made it any easier. Money is another word for psychological land mine.

Now, I’ve made a few handmade books. Most of them are small books–a short story or two inside. Only one is a hardcover.

My research on how to price handmade books has pulled up only blank books, like leather bound journals or small, pretty books that are works of art but contain no story.

Now, a hardcover book cost $30, right? Give or take.

But that’s a factory made book.

But charging for my time and materials…means a crazy high price.

So logically it seems foolish to make things I can’t sell.

But I don’t do it for money.

But I’ve got to cover my cost because I’m not a trust fund baby.

Besides, who even wants a handmade book in our ebook world?

Oh, well. It isn’t the end of the world if it doesn’t sell. That’s the nature of these things.

* * *

P.S. I’ve been working on my other blog–where I’m famous in a parallel universe. You can find out more here.

2 responses to “What I Hate Most about Art

  1. I think if you consider all your imagining time, scissor time, pasting time, drawing time…how many hours do you spend on each piece? Consider the time! Remember you are worth it! I love love love your bunnies!

    • Thank you, Karen. It is just anxiety inducing for me to figure out what I really think certain things are worth and then actually put those prices on them. If I mark something too low, I feel as if I’m disrespecting my work. But more accurate prices make me nervous.

      I just need to get over it. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

