Where Every Man Has Gone Before

My 8-year-old son has taken an interest in the original Star Trek series. I loved it when I was a kid, and while usually the kiddo professes to dislike any television I like (i.e. Doctor Who), he will ask to watch this show from the late 1960s.

This evening we watched the episode Mudd’s Women, and when the women in question beamed aboard the ship, I said rather offhandedly while struggling with gift wrap, “Here comes trouble.”

My son asked, “What do you mean?”

I thought about an answer while my son watched the men of the Enterprise watch the women walk across the room.

“Oh,” my son said. “I think I know what you mean.”

“You do?”

“They’re going to distract the men, aren’t they?”

“Well, yes. Yes, they are.”

Kids. Not as oblivious as you think–or as you wish.

4 responses to “Where Every Man Has Gone Before

  1. I never became a real Trekkie — didn’t see all the Kirk/Spock movies, never much watched any series after the original one. But I used to tape-record that first one, in pre-VCR days, on an old reel-to-reel tape recorder of my dad’s. I set the mike on the floor, directly in front of the TV speakers, and played the tapes back at leisure. Amazing how much I could remember of the visuals just from hearing the dialogue and sound effects again.

    And oh, my, yes — Mudd’s women. The men onscreen weren’t the only males distracted.

    • A love of Star Trek was one of the few things my father and I had in common. The original–I never actually got into the later series either.

      But while I’m not surprised that men onscreen and off could be distracted by those women, I didn’t expect my son to be old enough to realize such distractions occur. Sigh. Before I know it he’ll be the one distracted…

Leave a Reply

