Trash can full. Wallet empty. Coincidence?

altered art

Lately I’m not making much art that I like.

The number of failed stories and art projects bother me. Some of them cost real money but ended up in the trash. I’m supposed to make a living and I try to sell some of the art but I’ll never make back the money I’ve wasted. And money is tight around here…like most everywhere.

That’s not to mention the money spent on ink, paper, and postage sending out queries and sample pages of the novels. Ink being the killer.

And the time, the lack of sleep…

It’s depressing to spend all that and have nothing but a full trash can to show for it. I can’t be alone in this.

No use in complaining though, is there?

7 responses to “Trash can full. Wallet empty. Coincidence?

  1. Of course you have company. There are millions like you and me out there. The question is what would you done with your time if you weren’t writing and doing art work. Would you give what you did up for money? It’s a decision only you can make.

    • There is nothing else I want to do. It’s just hard not to feel a bit like a failure to be my age and be broke all the time. Sigh. But it isn’t like I’m really truly broke. So I should stop complaining about it.

  2. Well, complaining does serve some therapeutic purpose. 🙂 So it’s not a complete waste of time!

    Really? I think the only “problem” (not really the right word) is that in the last 6 months to a year your mind has just exploded with creative possibilities: so, so many things you could be doing. The dust hasn’t even settled from that explosion and, at the same time, this new and unexpected thing — skating — came sailing over the left-field fence. And your day-job schedule went nuts, of course.

    I noticed over there in the left sidebar your use of the word “interesting.” That’s your only problem, you know: you’re too interesting. I think things will calm down eventually: once you realize it’s impossible to do everything you COULD do, in the time available after subtracting out X, Y, and Z, you’ll settle on the (fewer) things which are absolutely vital to your soul, by whatever measure. Only dull people have too little to do, and/or too little motivation to do what’s important.

    • Aurgh!

      I’ve already cut out so many things/ideas I want to pursue. Interesting may be the wrong word. Mad. That’s the word you’re looking for.

      And work…oh, that is so depressing sometimes I don’t want to think about it.

  3. I feel your pain. But you really can’t go wrong if you follow your heart. Hang in there! Here’s a quote from Steve Jobs (Apple) that say it all:

    “Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma – which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of other’s opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.”

    I wish I’d learned that lesson much earlier in life.

    Nancy 🙂

Leave a Reply

