Too Late to Fall in Love

“I don’t want to waste my time.”

“Nobody reads short stories any more.”

“It’s not real. I like to read things that teach me something.”

Comments said to me recently about reading fiction.

Part of me reacts with dismay.

But then I wonder if my dismay is self-serving. I write. Of course I want people to read.

Can you learn to love fiction as an adult? Or if you don’t fall in love with stories as a child, is it too late?

One response to “Too Late to Fall in Love

  1. That’s a great question! I’m going to take the cynic’s road and say it would be very rare for a previously uninterested adult to learn to love fiction. On the other hand, people who loved fiction as children sometimes lose the magic, only to find it again later in life. So I wouldn’t say it’s hopeless, because you don’t know which kind of person you’re dealing with when they say those things. Hey, this actually turned out to be optimistic!

Leave a Reply

