And the American family is?

my kiddo skates fast

My students–who come from all over the world–were asking me about American families. Why do we make our kids leave home at 18? Well, I don’t think we make them leave, but we do seem to have a different attitude about children leaving home. I had a hard time answering their questions though. My own experience growing up and leaving home wasn’t typical (what is typical?) and I can’t represent every population and all the views…

I have to remind my students that Americans aren’t all like me. So often I ask them, “What comes to mind when you think of an American?” “Blond.” Sigh.

But that is something else all together. The last few days they’ve wanted to ask about families. One student believes that American parents are fine with their kids getting hotel rooms and that kids take drugs because their parents do.

It was a long conversation and I know I failed to explain the half of it. How on earth do you explain the American family?

2 responses to “And the American family is?

  1. Do they know that a large percentage of blondes come out of a bottle? :) I would not even want to try to explain the American family. Nothing is typical any more.

    • They know, and yet fail to consider this when I ask the question.

      I’ve no idea what is typical anymore either. The more I try to answer the question, the crazier I sound.

Leave a Reply

