Oh, movies…

My grandmother used the word pictures to talk about movies. She would offer to take me to a picture show. She took me to see On Golden Pond. I might’ve been in the 7th grade. She really wasn’t interested in most pictures.

I like movies, but I don’t really mind that I hardly ever watch any these days. The movie has to be something special to me if I’m going to take that much time from my life. One thing I’ve never understood is watching a movie just because “it was something to see.”

Anyway, a friend posted a movie meme on his blog, and I thought I’d use it to make a post. Leave your own answers in the comments if you like (or write your own post and let me know).

1. Movie you love with a passion.

The Wizard of Oz And as with any passion, you either understand or you don’t.

2. Movie you vow never to watch.

Used to be Titanic. Still haven’t seen the entire movie, but I did get stuck watching the last hour a few months ago. Now I vow never to watch the entire thing. And most any horror flick. I’ve made a few exceptions, but usually regret it. Oh. And Batman. Don’t care what anyone says. Or any of the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo films. Or Twilight. Or Anonymous.

3. Movie that left you literally speechless.

Dead Man Walking. Well, I managed to say one thing when the movie was over. My friend asked if I wanted a drink and I said yes.

4. Movie you always recommend.

I hate recommending movies. I don’t want you coming back annoyed at having wasted your time and money. Read reviews. Watch trailers. Take your own risks.

5. Actor/actress you always watch, no matter how crappy the movie.

For a long time that was Harrison Ford, but I haven’t seen any of his films from the last ten years. Can’t think of anyone else. Probably Judi Dench. Though just this evening I was thinking of seeing Daniel Radcliffe’s new film The Woman in Black even though he isn’t my favorite actor and I vowed never to watch horror films. Mostly I sympathize with his efforts to transition from boy wizard and would like to show him my support.

6. Actor/actress you don’t get the appeal of.

Tom Cruise. Adam Sandler. And I haven’t seen enough new movies to know who the hot young things are, so can’t speak to anyone else.

7. Actor/actress, living or dead, you’d love to meet.

Humphrey Bogart. Helen Mirren.

8. Sexiest actor/actress you’ve seen.

Ah, well. I can go for the obvious. Johnny Depp. (When he’s not hanging out on a Tim Burton movie set.)

9. Dream cast.

Hard to say, but it would have to involve Dame Helen Mirren, Dame Judi Dench, Cate Blanchett, Nicole Kidman, Toni Collette, and Dame Maggie Smith. Maybe with David Tennant and John Cusack tossed in.

10. Favorite actor pairing.

Cary Grant and Katherine Hepburn. Humphrey Bogart and Lauren Bacall. Molly Ringwald and Ducky (yeah, you heard me).

11. Favorite decade for movies.

Don’t have one. Although I am usually reluctant to watch any film from the ’60s and ’70s.

12. Chick flick or action movie?

Neither. Don’t get me wrong. I loved When Harry Met Sally and Die Hard, but I don’t rush out to see the next incarnation of the genres.

13. Favorite movie setting.

London.

14. Hero, villain, or anti-hero?

I don’t know. Well, not the villain.

15. Black and white or color?

Don’t care.

Now, this one wasn’t in the meme on JES’s blog, but I think there should be this:

16. Movie you regret seeing.

I don’t know the name of this film, but I was in a hotel bar and they were showing this horrifying, misogynistic sci-fi flick on their TV. After watching three barely dressed women killed in sci-fi dystopian ways, I very much wanted to have my brain bleached.

My son and I did recently go see Hugo. That was a lovely film, and my 8 year old liked it.

And films you’d like to mention are?

8 responses to “Oh, movies…

  1. Favorite of all time – An Affair To Remember with Grant and Kerr. Or just about anything with Cary Grant. I don’t care if movies are color or B&W. Good (especially for King fans) The Green Mile, Shawshank Redemption, Hearts in Atlantis. I’d love to meet Anthony Hopkins. Sean Connery (just for the yummy factor). Slasher movies I don’t like, but I do like a well-made horror film. I now refuse to watch anything with Will Ferrell – what an idiot. Most of the movies I watch now have a G rating and they are cartoons, as I do most of my movie viewing with my grandsons.

    • I love Cary Grant and one of my all time favorite movies is The Philadelphia Story. I generally have no desire to see any Will Ferrell films, but I did see Stranger than Fiction and loved it. That, of course, isn’t a slapstick nightmare of a comedy like he usually does.

      And really these days, I like to watch documentaries on Netflix.

  2. Great post! Omigosh, you totally rang a bell with your reference to your grandmother calling movies ‘pictures’, so did mine! Sniff! Now I really miss her.

    And Karen, kudos on your Cary Grant & Sean Connery choices. Now those guys were MEN!

    I love Casablanca with a passion. It’s the greatest movie ever. And I regret seeing the latest Planet of the Apes, it was excruciating to watch the apes in cages. What was I thinking?

    Don’t get the Tom Cruise thing, or the Matthew McConaughey thing.

    Now Daniel Craig is a different matter altogether. I’d watch him read the phone book for 2 hours. :)

    • My grandmother had the best vocabulary. I miss my grandmother too.

      Casablanca is a fantastic, pitch-perfect film as far as I’m concerned.

      Oh, and yes. Daniel Craig. He can read anything he wants to me.

  3. “…watch him read the phone book…” That’s the way I feel about Sean. But he’d have to read all the names, out loud, and slowly.

  4. I liked your #16…It should have been in JES’ as well. Hubby rented 52 Pick-up and it was HORRIBLE. AWFUL. I needed a shower after that for my mind…

Leave a Reply

